Check-In

During Check-In, changes that you have saved as a new Version are copied to the versiondog server.

The basic prerequisite for the Check-In is that the user has write access to the component.

Prior to the Check-In, the system checks whether the working directory is identical to the last version. If the version on the server is newer than the version on the client, a Check-In is not possible.

Definition of a version

Creating a new version and carrying out Check-In

  1. In the Project tree, select the component you want to edit in the Project tree. To activate the licence, proceed as follows:

  1. Click on Create a new version.

  2. If you have not made any changes, a message will inform you that no differences were found in the comparison. Versioning is only possible in this case if you click the Version without difference button in the Extras tab in the menu bar.

  3. If changes are detected during the comparison, the dialogue Create new version will appear. If necessary, check the differences in the Create a new version dialog using the Difference tree, or click the Next or Previous buttons.

  4. Enter the changes and comments for your new version under Add comments.

Scenario A: you have a connection to the server.

  1. In the window Create new version, add a comment about the changes and click on Create a new version and Check-In.

  2. The Check-In process is carried out without you having to do anything else.

Scenario B: You do not have a connection to the server.

  1. In the window Create new version, add a comment about the changes and click on Create local version.

  2. A version will then be created locally. Since you have no connection to the server, a Check-In is currently not possible.

  3. You can create multiple versions locally without checking these in.

If you have a connection to the server:

  1. In the Project tree, select the component with the newly created version.
  2. Go to Start and then click on Check-In.
  3. The Check-In dialog will be opened with the selected components.
  4. Then click on Check-In.

When the Check-In is complete, a pop-up window will open indicating successful completion.

The display of the pop-up window can be configured via the Client settings dialog (see section Client settings).

Deleting components after local Check-In

To delete a checked-in component locally, proceed as follows:

  1. Right click on the component.

  2. Then click on Delete locally in the context menu.

  3. The dialog Delete component will open.

  4. Activate the checkbox Delete local working directory of component.

  5. Click on Delete.

In the Extras tab, you can use the Client Settings dialog to specify that the local working directory of the component is automatically deleted after a successful Check-In (see section Client Settings).

FAQ

FAQ: During Check-In, the following error message is displayed: "[Name: GetDiskFreeSpaceEx] [Info: <Directory>] [Note:Access denied]". How can I resolve this problem?

If this error occurs, contact your system administrator to verify that you have write access to the vdServerArchive folder on the remote share.

To the FAQ list