Check-Out

Features and functions

The Check-Out function copies the current or several version(s) of a component (e.g. an S7 project) from the server archive to the client archive (working directory) on your local PC.

Note that the versiondog system, based solely on the check-out function on components.

Views

Prior to the check-out, be aware of the different view options in the Project tree:

The button displays all directories that exist on the server. Directories that have not been checked out are shown in gray.

Checking out components

  1. In the Project tree, select the component.
  2. Go to Start and then click on Check-Out.
  3. The Check-Out will be opened with the selected components.
  4. Click on Check-Out and close.
  5. When the component is finished checking out, a pop-up window opens in the notification area with the result of checking out.
  6. The display of the pop-up window after a successful check-out can be activated or deactivated via the Client Settings (see section Client Settings).

Once the component has been checked out, the component type symbol will be displayed in color in the project tree.

Editing the working directory

Open the working directory in the file manager via the ribbon in the Start tab, or via the right mouse button (option Show in file manager) or via the key combination Ctrl+E.

You can configure which file manager is used by default in the Client Settings dialog. For more information, see the tutorial Client Settings.

If you want to see the size or packed size of your project before checking out, proceed as follows:

  1. Right-click the line containing the entries Version, Tags, etc. in the Change history tab.
  2. From the drop-down list, select Size or Packed size.
  3. The size of all projects will now be displayed in the window Change history in the preselection.

FAQ

FAQ: How can I calculate the packed size or the size of the components afterwards?

For the first step, you will need to create a backup of the entire server archive. This is because the tools change nearly every file in the server archive.

The necessary program VDogArchiveCheck is automatically included in the server installation folder as of version 7.5 and no longer needs to be downloaded separately.

Requirements

  • When using a single server: The server needs to be in Maintenace mode.
  • In parallel server operation and server synchronisation: All servers need to be in Maintenance mode. In the case of parallel servers and during server synchronisation, you will need to execute the tool on every server and wait for its completion. To avoid downtime, it is advisable that you execute the tools on all servers at the same time.

Execution

versiondog can continue to run.

Depending on the size of the archive, the time needed to execute the tool can take longer.

  1. The VDogArchiveCheck tool is located in the server installation directory. By default, this can be found under C:\Program Files(x86)\vdogServer.
  2. Start the tool VDogArchiveCheck via the command line:
  3. VDogArchiveCheck.exe /RD: <vdServerArchive> /AT: S /ConvertZips /Account: versiondog /Password: {Password} [/Domain: {Domain}]
  4. If no error messages are being displayed, the tool has now been successfully implemented.
  5. Maintenance mode will be deactivated. For further information, please contact support.

To the FAQ list