BackupClient

The BackupClient is used to make backups for automation devices that cannot be accessed by the versiondog system. The BackupClient is used when there is no connection between the production level networks and the versiondog server . This can be, for example, for security reasons to prevent unauthorized access to production equipment.

The workflow with the BackupClient is as follows:

  1. The data to be backed up is taken directly from the automation device.

  2. The BackupClient is installed on a transportable computer, such as a laptop, and then synchronized with the versiondog server in order to receive the jobs necessary to perform the backup.

  3. The employee responsible for data backup takes the computer with the BackupClient to the production facilities, connects the computer to the automation device, and then runs the jobs for data backup.

  4. After performing the backup, the employee returns to his original workstation, logs onto the versiondog server and then transfers the data to it.

The BackupClient is installed or uninstalled via the versiondog setup. For more information, see the Installing client applications tutorial.

versiondog clients will close once two hours, without user activity, have passed. This is the default setting. In order to continue using the clients, the user will have to log in again. If the client application has been open for over 48 hours, the user will also have to log in again (this also occurs by default and will happen regardless of whether user activity took place during this time period or not).

It is possible to configure these values to suit your individual needs. This can be done via an entry in the server.ini file. For more information, see INI files in AdminClient.

If the VDogMasterService is restarted, during the time period in which a client application is open, the user will have to log in again. This is because login information is lost when the service is restarted.

In this tutorial:


Last updated: 11 December 2020